Daesan Literary Awards for College Students


The Daesan Literary Award for College Students was initiated to encourage literary activities across university campuses and to uncover promising new writers. In 2013, university students at home and abroad competed in six categories: poetry, fiction, drama, screenplay, criticism, and children’s literature. A total of 690 applicants submitted their work: 244 in poetry, 307 in fiction, 67 in drama, 17 in screenplays, 18 in criticism, and 37 in children’s literature. The judges for each category independently evaluated the submissions.
The list of winners are as follows: Kim Eung-gyu (junior at Inha University) in the poetry category, Kang Ha-na (senior at Inha University) in the fiction category, Im Bit-na (junior at Korea National University of Arts) in the drama category, Han Ji-su (senior at Korea University) in the screenplay category, and Hong Hyun-jeong (sophomore at Seoul Arts University) in the children’s literature. This year, there was no winner in the criticism category.
Winners received 5 million KRW and an opportunity to go on a literary tour overseas. The award ceremony was held in a seminar room at the Kyobo Building on January 13, 2014. The literary tour of Spain, from Feb. 4 (Tue) to 14 (Fri), provided a valuable experience for the winners to expand their literary horizons by participating in a variety of literary programs.