Daesan Literary Awards for College Students


The Daesan Literary Awards for College students?
jointly sponsored by the Changbi Publishing Company? was initiated to stimulate literary activities across college campuses and to uncover promising new writers. Works written by students attending universities in Korea or abroad were collected in six categories: poetry, fiction, drama, screenplay, criticism, and children’s literature, yielding a total of 258 writers in poetry, 361 in fiction, 74 in drama, 46 in screenplay, 24 in criticism, and 30 in children's literature. A total of 793 students submitted works. Committee members were selected in each category and conducted a screening process. Winners included the following: Hyojeong Jeon (freshman at Yonsei University) in the poetry category, Uri Jo (senior at Chungang University) in the fiction category, Gyeongmin Kim (senior at Chungang University) in the drama category, Jaemin Yun (senior at Dongguk University) in the criticism category, Seohyeon Kang (senior at Hankuk University of Foreign Studies) in the screenplay category and Jinha Lee (senior at Chungang University) in the children’s literature category. Winners received 5 million KRW and the possibility of going on a literary tour overseas. The awards ceremony was held in Kyobo Building’s Convention Hall on January 10, 2012 (Tuesday); the literary tour took place between January 24 (Tuesday) and February 3 (Friday), winners expanding their literary horizons by participating in group-literary programs prepared in Germany, France, and England.