Daesan Literary Awards for College Students


The Daesan Literary Awards for College students-jointly sponsored by the Changbi Publishing Company-was initiated to stimulate literary activities across college campuses and to uncover promising new writers. Despite its short history, the seventh annual Daesan Literary Awards for College Students has established its place as an important literary award for new writers.

Works written by students in universities in Korea or abroad were collected in six categories: poetry, fiction, drama, screenplay, criticism, and children's literature, yielding a total of 365 writers in poetry, 325 in fiction, 76 in drama, 29 in screenplay, 17 in criticism, and 49 in children's literature. A total of 861 students submitted works. Committee members were selected in each category and carried out a screening process. Winners included the following: in the poetry category, Bak Hiesu (junior at Seoul National University), in the fiction category, Nam Yunsu (second year student at Seoul Institute of the Arts), in the drama category, Lee Jeonghyeon (junior at Korea National University of Arts), in the screenplay category, Kim Juseong (senior at Yonsei University), in the criticism category, Jang Eunjeong (senior at Myongji University), and in children's literature, Mun Buil (junior at SungKongHoe University).
Winners received 5 million won and the possibility of going on a literary tour overseas. The awards ceremony was held in the 10th floor Auditorium of the Kyobo Building on January 10, 2009; the literary tour took place between January 30 and February 9; winners visited Japan, Britain, and France among other countries.