Daesan Literary Awards for College Students


The Daesan Literary Awards for College students-jointly sponsored by the Changbi Publishing Company-was initiated to stimulate literary activities across college campuses and to uncover promising new writers.
Works written by students in universities in Korea or abroad were collected in six categories: poetry, fiction, drama, screenplay, criticism, and children’s literature, yielding a total of 299 writers in poetry, 334 in fiction, 77 in drama, 34 in screenplay, 14 in criticism, and 28 in children's literature. A total of 786 students submitted works. Committee members were selected in each category and carried out a screening process.
Winners included the following: Seonghyeon Bae (junior at Seoul Institute of the Arts) in the poetry category, Samhye Jeon (senior at Myongji University) in the fiction category, Jino Jeon (sophomore at Dongguk University) in the drama category, Hyemin Na (senior at Dongguk University) in the screenplay category, Cheolhui Jeon (senior at Hanyang University) in the criticism category, and Yunseo Lee (junior at Seoul Institute of the Arts) in children’s literature.

Winners received 5 million KRW and the possibility of going on a literary tour overseas. The awards ceremony was held in the 10th floor Auditorium of the Kyobo Building on January 15, 2010 (Friday); the literary tour took place between January 23 (Saturday) and February 2 (Tuesday); winners visited Japan, Germany, France and Britain among other countries.